Never Let the Fear of Striking out Keep you from Playing the Game

I heard this saying this weekend “Never Let the Fear of Striking out Keep you from Playing the Game.” I guess its very fitting in a few aspects of my life right now. Job Hunting. Relationship. A lot of times I hold back for fear of failure, fear that I will find out things I want to know but again don’t really want to know. I hate to fail – more than most people. I don’t take failure well, I tend to climb further into my shell when failure arises. And that is for failure in anything in my life.

In relationships: I don’t push, I tend to hold back from saying certain things, from showing too many feelings, from trying to ask for too much because I have that fear – that fear of striking out. That I will just hear no, no, no or I don’t want this anymore. So, I have always been passive and I guess passive about certain things is good but passive about other things is not and maybe sometimes I should just lay my feelings on the line. And if I don’t hear what i want to hear back, then maybe whatever this is, isn’t really what i thought it was…

In jobs: i am extremely comfortable where i am at, i make good money. to put myself back out in the job market and get nothing, no one contacting me – scary. i know that won’t be the case. but like i said I don’t like failure. but its time for failure to kick me in the ass because i have to get out there and job search, i have to find a new job.

So thats going to be my new motto for a lot of things in life (nothing like a good baseball reference):

“Never Let the Fear of Striking out Keep you from Playing the Game”

I heard something else this weekend and I felt like it was worth stating…because I believe its true…

“Do you believe in love at first sight?”

“What I believe in? I believe in taking a deeper look.”

Sometimes something just slaps you in the face and its there – love at first sight… i don’t think so but enough of “something” there to take a deeper look…maybe?

http://profile.imeem.com/3AAH3e/music/ptVh7aRg/ill_be/

I’ll Be

By:Edwin McCain

The strands in your eyes that color them wonderful
Stop me and steal my breath
And emeralds from mountains thrust towards the sky
Never revealing their depth

And tell me that we belong together
Dress it up with the trappings of love
I’ll be captivated, I’ll hang from your lips
Instead of the gallows of heartache that hang from above

And I’ll be your cryin’ shoulder
I’ll be love`s suicide
And I’ll be better when I’m older
I’ll be the greatest fan of your life

And rain falls angry on the tin roof
As we lie awake in my bed
And you’re my survival, you’re my living proof
My love is alive, and not dead

And tell me that we belong together
Dress it up with the trappings of love.
I’ll be captivated, I’ll hang from your lips
Instead of the gallows of heartache that hang from above

And I’ll be your cryin’ shoulder
I`ll be love`s suicide
And I’ll be better when I’m older
I’ll be the greatest fan of your life.

And I dropped out, I burned up, I fought my way back from the dead,
I tuned in,I turned on, remembered the thing that you said.

And I’ll be your cryin’ shoulder
I’ll be love`s suicide
And I’ll be better when I’m older
I’ll be the greatest fan of your life

The greatest fan of your life.

About Karin "CoCo"

i am just a midwestern girl living in the big city where i belong, happy and... View all posts by Karin "CoCo"

Leave a Reply

