Bacon is love and God and all things between…

Today is a Bacon kind of day… (although what day SHOULD NOT be a bacon kind of day…)

So Chel and I were gchatting (while we were also diligently working because we can multi-task, we are women – we multi-task fabulously!!):

Chel:  i am about to go f*cking trial chel on some unsuspecting desk clerk at the hoiday inn
 me:  ruh roh
 Chel:  i swear to bacon that i will own my own holiday inn/intercontinental
me:  There is a Bacon God – ya know?
 Chel:  there totally is
me:  his loin cloth is made of bacon
me: he has a tender loin… cloth
me:  and the god of bacon is married to the goddess of love because Bacon is Love

Now one thing I have not discussed here is my LOVE for everything Bacon… I even have a great friend who got me Bacon Cologne for my Birthday. And while we were away on a 2 month trial… my slogan to the whole team was “Bacon is Love” –  if you share your bacon with someone it means you love them.. deeply. So all through trial.. anytime someone had Bacon they would secretly slide a piece of bacon on to my plate and I would find it and giggle with Glee. (yes we were delirious…living out of a hotel for 2 months and working 120hr+ weeks BUT STILL!)

So my friend (PS his name is Mark and he is an attorney also) that got me the bacon cologne sent me an email earlier today.. that his mom bought him this…
And he wrote this with the picture:
“Karin – when my Mom was in town, we went to this Polish Catholic Cathedral outside of Philadelphia. My mom got me this statute of Saint Mark – the patron saint of attorneys, captives and notaries.

Feel free to pray to me…”

Upon further research… (aka an email from Chel’s boyfriend) we found out:

In 828, relics believed to be the body of St. Mark were stolen from Alexandria by two Venetian merchants and taken to Venice, where the Byzantine Theodore of Amasea had previously been the patron saint. A basilica was built there to house the relics.

A mosaic in St Mark’s Basilica, Venice depicts sailors covering the relics with a layer of pork. Since Muslims are not allowed to touch pork, this action was done to prevent Muslim intervention in the relics removal.

Chel’s boyfriend remarks on the pork wrapping of St. Mark’s relics: Sweet (and tasty) move…by those Venetians.”

So shortly after I tell Chel that there is a Bacon God.. we find out that St. Mark – patron saint of MY PROFESSION  (attorney) is also WRAPPED IN PORK.

Its just too much for me to handle… I think I need some chocolate covered bacon to deal with the rest of the afternoon…

About Karin "CoCo"

i am just a midwestern girl living in the big city where i belong, happy and... View all posts by Karin "CoCo"

Leave a Reply

